The Birdcage Archives

Monday 2 November 2015

Nordic Council’s Prize for Literature 2015

Hello Gentle Reader

Thank-you to World Literature Forum, for informing me of this year’s Nordic Council Prize for Literature. Without the mention of this year’s prize winner; by any newspaper or online source, the prize winner may have simply passed by without any knowledge on my part. This year’s winner of the Nordic Council Prize for Literature is the Norwegian playwright, poet and prose writer: Jon Fosse, for his work: “Andvake, Olavs draumar and Kveldsvævd,” also known as “The Trilogy.”

Jon Fosse is a recognisable face for many as he is a continual contender for the Nobel Prize for Literature. Jon Fosse is considered the heir of Ibsen in drama, but also a fellow playwright in the lines of Samuel Beckett, Eugene Ionesco, and Harold Pinter. His plays are known for their sparse almost poetic sense to them, which overflow’s into his prose, with its minimalist and stream of consciousness style. Fosse is considered one of the greatest practitioners of dramatic writing currently on display on the world stage. His plays have been performed all over the world, and have been beloved throughout Europe.

Congratulations to Jon Fosse for winning this year’s Nordic Council’s Prize for Literature!

Thank-you For Reading Gentle Reader
Take Care
And As Always
Stay Well Read

M. Mary

No comments:

Post a Comment