The Birdcage Archives

Friday 17 January 2014

T.S Eliot Prize

Hello Gentle Reader

Poetry in some regards is a dying art form. Many would argue that poets, in today’s world no longer write for readers. They write for each other. The belief is that poets sit in their ivory tower, practicing their archaic art form – only to pass it along to their fellow brethren. Yet somehow poetry has its relevancy in today’s literary world. It’s small, elitist, and very exclusive – but there are poetry loves, and poets, who value the line over syntax. That being said, the poets who occasionally turn to prose, often showcase their powers of observation, mastery of language and stylistic ingenuity; and often create the most wonderful books of prose; which can be seen when David Constantine won the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award for his collection “Tea at The Midland.” Constantine is known as a poet; and is a commissioning editor of Carcanet Press; which publishes primarily poetry. David Constantine has also been chief judge for the T.S. Eliot Prize; one of the most prestigious poetry awards.

Sinéad Morrissey is the Belfast poet Laureate; and with her collection “Parallax,” joins the likes of Derek Walcott, Seamus Heaney, Sharon Olds and Anne Carson as being a recipient of the T.S. Eliot prize. With this collection of poems, Morrissey explores concepts and ideas, of identity, motherhood, and gender; but goes beyond these themes, to explore the skewed perspectives and different angels in which these subjects can be looked at.

Congratulations to Sinéad Morrissey, as a poet she is in good company with this award.

Thank-you For Reading Gentle Reader
Take Care
And As Always
Stay Well Read
*And Remember: Downloading Books Illegally is Thievery and Wrong.*

M. Mary